User Log On

Pack 420 Pack 420

3rd Grade - Bears 3rd Grade - Bears

  • Earning the Bear Rank

    A boy or girl who is 9 years old or is in the third grade is a Bear, and their adventures are found in the Bear Handbook.

    Like all other new Cub Scouts, a Bear must first earn their Bobcat rank. After completing the requirements for Bobcat they may go on to complete the requirements for the Bear rank and the many electives that are offered for this rank.

    The den meeting plans for the Bear rank adventures are found in the Bear Den Leader Guide along with other tips and hints for running a fun Cub Scout Program.

    Bear Requirements

    Bear Scouts work toward the Bear rank. The Bear rank is earned by completing seven adventures as described below.

    1. Complete each of the following Bear required adventures with your den or family:
      1. Bear Claws
      2. Bear Necessities
      3. Fellowship and Duty to God
      4. Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
      5. Baloo the Builder
      6. Paws for Action
    2. Complete one Bear elective adventure of your den or family’s choosing.
    3. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.*

    *If your family does not have Internet access at home AND you do not have ready Internet access at school or another public place or via a mobile device, the Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian.


    Please contact Den Leader Jennifer Hanson for additional information.